The Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society

The Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society was founded in 1997 for the purpose of preserving, improving and making more beautiful the common areas of Sequoyah Hills for the enjoyment of its residents and our community. Here is a partial list of the SHPS's past and current projects:

  • Installation of monuments for E.V. & J.W. Ferrell as developers of Sequoyah Hills and for Robert L. Foust as the developer of the Talahi Subdivision.
  • Installation of bronze plaques chronicling the history of the Indian Mound on Cherokee Blvd. and the Peter Blow Ferry.
  • $2,500 to Sequoyah Elementary School to enhance the landscaping of the playground and park area.
  • $6,000 to repair Panther Fountain and surrounding benches.
  • $4,400 annual landscaping contract for 8 intersection islands.
  • Planted evergreen tree in Talahi Park to serve as neighborhood Christmas tree.
  • $4,000 annually for installation of holiday decorations on 100+ lampposts, the Cherokee Blvd. entrance and the lights on the Christmas tree.
  • Potential project to work with the City to repair concrete and wrought iron work at Talahi Park.
  • Potential project to up-light the dogwood trees in Talahi Park during Dogwood Arts Festival.

The annual dues for the SHPS are $100. Please see the Board of Directors list for contact information.

Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society Board of Directors 2011 - 2012


Bill Morrow Treasurer
4411 Alta Vista Way
Knoxville, TN 37919

Susan Brackney Secretary
3507 Talahi Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919

Carole Ayres
918 Cherokee Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Nancy Bills
924 Scenic Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919

Fred Brackney
3507 Talahi Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919

John Dempster
4066 Valencia Road
Knoxville, TN 37919
546-9395 h
777-3034 w

Rick Dover
2018 Cherokee Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Melinda Ethier President
821 Woodland Court
Knoxville, TN 37919

Dr. Joyce Feld
1540 Agawela
Knoxville, TN 37919

Judge Bruce Guyton
1554 Agawela Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Lucy Hand
1155 Scenic Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919

Barbara Hillard
4053 Towanda Trail
Knoxville, TN 37919

Rich Tierney Vice President
1212 Kenesaw Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Garrett Manry
1400 Kenesaw Ave., #12N
Knoxville, TN 37919

Tamara Warner
1015 Southgate Rd.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Jim Hart Member Emeritus
1028 Cherokee Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37919

Marilyn Roddy Member Emeritus
920 Iskagna
Knoxville, TN 37919

Mark Williams Member Emeritus
602 Cherokee Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37919
637-1440 w
971-1744 h