The Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society

The Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society was founded in 1997 for the purpose of preserving, improving and making more beautiful the common areas of Sequoyah Hills for the enjoyment of its residents and our community. Here is a partial list of the SHPS's past and current projects:

  • Installation of monuments for E.V. & J.W. Ferrell as developers of Sequoyah Hills and for Robert L. Foust as the developer of the Talahi Subdivision.
  • Installation of bronze plaques chronicling the history of the Indian Mound on Cherokee Blvd. and the Peter Blow Ferry.
  • $2,500 to Sequoyah Elementary School to enhance the landscaping of the playground and park area.
  • $6,000 to repair Panther Fountain and surrounding benches.
  • $4,400 annual landscaping contract for 8 intersection islands.
  • Planted evergreen tree in Talahi Park to serve as neighborhood Christmas tree.
  • $4,000 annually for installation of holiday decorations on 100+ lampposts, the Cherokee Blvd. entrance and the lights on the Christmas tree.
  • Potential project to work with the City to repair concrete and wrought iron work at Talahi Park.
  • Potential project to up-light the dogwood trees in Talahi Park during Dogwood Arts Festival.

The annual dues for the SHPS are $100. Please see the Board of Directors list for contact information.

Sequoyah Hills Preservation Society Board of Directors 2011 - 2012

 

Bill Morrow Treasurer
twomorrow@bellsouth.net

Susan Brackney Secretary
spbrack@bellsouth.net

Carole Ayres
Csa918@gmail.com

Nancy Bills
nbills@bellsouth.net

Fred Brackney
Brackn8@aol.com

John Dempster
Jdemps6214@aol.com

Rick Dover
Dover2018@aol.com

Melinda Ethier President
msethier@comcast.net

Dr. Joyce Feld
jlfeld@gmail.com

Judge Bruce Guyton
Bruce_guyton@tned.uscourts.gov

Lucy Hand
Louiehand@bellsouth.net

Barbara Hillard
bfhillard@hotmail.com

Rich Tierney Vice President
rich@sequoyahhills.com

Garrett Manry
garrettmanry@gmail.com

Tamara Warner
t1warner@hotmail.com

Jim Hart Member Emeritus
fotsjhart@bellsouth.net

Marilyn Roddy Member Emeritus
mlroddy@comcast.net

Mark Williams Member Emeritus
mkw@mcylaw.com